PDA

View Full Version : Captured Hollowing jig with Laser

Gary Conklin
07-24-2009, 10:51 PM
So I made a captured hollowing system with a laser. I love it already after just 1 use except for this one little thing, I turned right through the bottom of the piece. It was then that I realized 2 things.

1. I have never even seen a system in person or in use.
2. I have no practical knowledge of how to set up the laser.

So the questions are this: How do I set the laser? IIR when the dot falls off the piece you have reached your mark, right?

Help greatly appreciated.

David Christopher
07-24-2009, 10:55 PM
Gary, I have the jamison rig and a DVD that came with it if you want the DVD PM me your address and I will send it to you.....its pretty informative

Ryan Baker
07-24-2009, 11:14 PM
Actually, you can set up the laser any way you want ... as long as you remember what that is and use it accordingly.

You could set it to point right at the cutting edge of the tool, so it will show you where the edge is. You could set it away from the cutting edge by the desired wall thickness so that (as you suggested) it 'falls off the edge' when you get there.

Remember when you go around corners that you may need to adjust the laser ... a laser referenced to the left of the cutter won't keep you from going through the bottom.

Steve Schlumpf
07-24-2009, 11:24 PM
Gary - I try to keep the laser in-line with where I am cutting. Every time I change where I am cutting on the inside of the form - I have to reset the laser.

Chip Sutherland
07-24-2009, 11:28 PM
draw a line parallel to the edge on old business card where the distance from edge to line is the wall thickness you want (3/16,1/4,3/8, etc). Make several cards for different wall thicknesses. With the card edge pressed against the tip of the cutter/scraper set the laser to touch the line drawn on the card. Hint: the laser will be hitting air.