PDA

View Full Version : Jet Tablesaw tripping breaker , please help

Craig D Peltier
07-19-2009, 7:26 PM
I have the 10" 3hp , running on a 30 amp 200 breaker. Been like that for 3 years. No problems. Today try and start it and it trips the breaker. I tried it in another 220 outlet and same thing , but DC runs on both so its the saw.
So when I hit the start button it turns maybe 1/4 inch but looks like in reverse and then breaker trips. I took off the electrical connection cover under the motor. I saw one wire was rubbed to the metal so I electrical taped it and left cover off and it still does the same thing.
The motor smells a bit now.

Im not very good with electrical testers but I have one. Its new if that tells you anything.
I have been cutting maybe 3 or 4 fence boards which were wet in cedar yesterday.

Any ideas???

Thanks

How much is a new motor if needed? Just a guestimate?

glenn bradley
07-19-2009, 7:55 PM
Sounds like a starter capacitor (that little bump on the side of the motor). The cap discharges and gives the motor its initial "push" so that the running juice can keep 'er going. Google "bad starter capacitor?" and you will find some folks who may have similar symptoms although maybe not on a saw.

Craig D Peltier
07-19-2009, 11:26 PM
Anyone else have any ideas on what I can check/do?

Craig D Peltier
07-19-2009, 11:45 PM
Sounds like a starter capacitor (that little bump on the side of the motor). The cap discharges and gives the motor its initial "push" so that the running juice can keep 'er going. Google "bad starter capacitor?" and you will find some folks who may have similar symptoms although maybe not on a saw.

Internet tells me if it were a start capacitor I would hear the motor humming. There is no humm, just a quick bump ( turns the blade backwards about 1/2 inch) and then breaker trips.
Internet was talking about the Cap?? I dont know what that is.

Rick Christopherson
07-19-2009, 11:46 PM