PDA

View Full Version : Justifying tool purchases

Mike Mastin
03-21-2003, 10:55 PM
I have always bought tools based upon my wants, but as a new business owner I have found myself being a bit more Scrooge like of late.

I have spent the day at the Dallas Industrial Strength Woodworking Show having a good long look at many of the tools that I would like to add to our shop, but then I start to justify the need! I would love to add a bigger planer to the tool stable, but the old planer does a decent job for our current workload and its paid for. I would really like to add a drum or wide belt sander to offer some additional services, but our needs are only occasional for a tool like this right now. I want to add a really big bandsaw for our resaw needs and this is the one thing that I think that I can justify, but I have been sofocused on adding only resellable stock to further expand our business, that I just can't do it yet. I know that I am using my better judgement and will be safe in not doing anything foolish, but it is just not fun!

It used to be so easy before I started a business when it came to buying tools. I saw, I liked, I bought! Now I begin to analyze the possible payback and how long that I think it will take to pay for itself(if ever!).

I need to stay away from these shows now that I watch my bottom line. I really takes the fun out of tool purchasing for me :-)

Todd Burch
03-21-2003, 11:21 PM
Hey Mike, I know how it is!!

I was laid off back in November, and like you before, I too used to just buy, buy, buy. Now that I'm getting into woodworking full time (or trying to), I would love to have a 12" or 16" jointer, but the 8" will have to suffice. And, the 1963 Parks 12" planer, while it's not the 18" or 24" Powermatic or Martin with an indexable carbide Tersa head that I dream about, still cuts fine.