PDA

View Full Version : Help with first acrylic bowl attempt

Kimberly Connor
07-13-2009, 12:18 PM
Has anyone ever made an acrylic bowl? I have a customer that is wanting one that is triangle shaped and I'm having some trouble with it molding right after it is heated. I don't know if I need to adjust my shape before cutting or what I need to do different. This is my first attempt at something like this and I'm stumped.

Any ideas/tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!!!

Tom Bull
07-13-2009, 1:19 PM
Are you trying to cut out a shape and then bend it? Do you need to know the shape to cut that will yield the shape of the bowl?

Kimberly Connor
07-13-2009, 1:27 PM
Yes, I am trying to cut the triangle shape out and then bend it over the bowl but it is scalloping very bad when I try to mold it. Not sure what I am doing wrong.

Doug Griffith
07-13-2009, 2:03 PM
That would be drape forming. For acrylic, you will probably need a male tool with a female assist. The acrylic needs to be slowly heated all the way through to the point where it becomes completely plastic. Acrylic does not like to form over deep draws so the bowl you are using as a tool may not work.

Any pictures?

Dave Johnson29
07-13-2009, 10:30 PM
Yes, I am trying to cut the triangle shape out and then bend it over the bowl but it is scalloping very bad when I try to mold it. Not sure what I am doing wrong.

You need to vacuum form it over a mold. A triangle is a tough one to do as it will pull seams at the corners. To prevent that use small blocks of wood back from the corners to spread the stretching.

You can set this up pretty simply but for a one-off it might not be worth it. Clamp the sheet between toy wooden or metal frames then heat in an oven until it sags in the center. At about 1/4" sag, drop it over the mold and hit the vacuum.