PDA

View Full Version : Turning chuck choices

David Reed
07-13-2009, 10:11 AM
I have been a lurker to the site for a while and only posted a couple of times in the past. I have been working on my home built lathe for the past 33 years and finally went out and purchased a new 16" lathe. I am looking to turn more bowls and large free form projects (outboard when needed) and need to upgrade to a chuck. I often turn 12-20" on a face plate now but want the convenience of a chuck and need some advise on the brands out there. I have looked at both the Oneway and the SuperNova 2 and so far the Nova looks like it wins my vote. Any comments on these or other chucks which I should be looking at?
thanks for all the great information I have gleaned as a lurker in the past.
David Reed

Alan Trout
07-13-2009, 10:27 AM
All are good chucks you are looking at. I would also look at Vicmarc. With this being said I use Nova chucks I have a G3 and a Super Nova 2. They both work well and have not had a single issue with either of them. What helped with my decision was jaws were interchangable across the entire line and I have a local source that has a very good selection of jaws just in case I need a different style quickly.

Again I don't think you will have any trouble with the Oneway, Vic, or Nova.

Good Luck

Alan

Eugene Malone
07-13-2009, 10:42 AM
HI, I have the supernova2 I have two of them as a matter of fact, but a friend has the Vicmarc 5 1/2" and it is the real thing for large work. More exp. but I believe worth it.
REgards Eugene.

Jonathan Harvey
07-13-2009, 1:35 PM
I work with a oneway stronghold as well as the vicmarc VM120 and love both of them equally. I think you would be happy with either of these chucks.

Dave Ogren
07-13-2009, 1:52 PM