PDA

View Full Version : Setting up in a mall kiosk

Bret Gordon
07-10-2009, 1:30 PM
Hi, I am brand new to the laser engraving industry but have been doing tons of research and am extremely excited about launching my own laser engraving venture. I am thinking about leasing a kiosk in a mall and doing the engraving there. I don't yet have a laser but have narrowed in on the VLS 3.50 - 50 watt. I understand that I will also need a filtration unit to setup indoors (although I've seen pictures of engravers setup indoors without a blower or a filtration unit which has me confused). Has anyone ever setup their laser in a mall kiosk or a similar setting? If so, I'd love to hear some of your advice and about your experiences!

Thanks in advance!

Bret

Mike Null
07-10-2009, 1:42 PM
Bret

Welcome to the forum.

I have no personal experience with kiosks in mall but I have a friend who had one for years offering all manner of engraved gifts. He also had a store location. He closed the kiosk last year because it was losing money.

A number of years ago there were a handful of laser engraver kiosks in malls but I haven't seen one for a long time.

I'd proceed with extreme caution.

Tim Bateson
07-10-2009, 2:50 PM
I would suggest you study this forum from start to finish. That will take you a few months. After that if you still want to pursue your venture, I have only one piece of advice. First play the Lottery & hope you hit it big, so as to put food on your table while your venture slowly goes south.

I would be the last person to spit on someone's dream, but I would hate more to know I did nothing & someone failed and lost everything.

I love doing this & wish everyone well. I too almost made your same mistake, but was wise enough to listen to those here that have the experience and know better and to have REALLY studied the market place.