PDA

View Full Version : Couple of veenering questions

Jeff Monson
07-10-2009, 12:36 PM
I'm just getting started on the top for a writing desk I'm making for my wife, I purchased some crotch mahogany veneer awhile ago and it has dried out and become very wavy and brittle, can I dampen the veneer to get it flexible? Also can I glue it to my plywood base while it is damp? This is my 1st experience with a highly figured veneer so any help, suggestions or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Jim McFarland
07-10-2009, 1:08 PM
Joe has some tips for flattening veneer:
http://joewoodworker.com/veneering/flattening.htm

I flattened some quilted maple using his procedure and worked great. However, I was in a hurry to finish and didn't wait several days for the veneer to completely dry -- result was some small gaps in the joints after the glue-up and final drying. Nothing major, but I'll wait until completely dry next time.

John Harden
07-10-2009, 2:03 PM
Yup, Joe's methods and veneer softener work fantastic. I buy his veneer softener by the gallon. Key is to not forget to change out the paper once or more per day. I buy 36" wide rolls of heavy brown craft/painters paper from Lowe's and use it for this and as a quick surface protector for my bench top.

Regards,

John

Steve Rozmiarek
07-10-2009, 4:25 PM
That veneer softener that you guys are talking about also works great to get really gnarly figured lumber to hand plane beautifully.

John Harden
07-10-2009, 4:43 PM
That veneer softener that you guys are talking about also works great to get really gnarly figured lumber to hand plane beautifully.

Well, I'll be darned. Never thought of that, but I bet it'd work great. How long do you let it dry before planing? I assume you spritz it on with a spray bottle?

Regards,

John

Jeff Monson
07-10-2009, 5:22 PM
Thanks guys, thats a really good site for veneering, good reading, I just ordered a gallon of his softener.