PDA

View Full Version : Something a little different (I hope)

Brian Weaver
07-07-2009, 10:23 PM
I have been lurking and learning here for awhile now, and will say this is my favorite turning forum. I check in several times a day (don't tell my boss) to see whats new. I have been turning for a little over 2 years now and it has certainly sucked me in. Anyway the bike I finished the other day its about 10" x 6". The "bug" I did a couple months ago comments and critiques welcome, sorry about the pics.

Ryan Baker
07-07-2009, 10:26 PM
Very cool! Bonus points for originality!

Steve Schlumpf
07-07-2009, 10:47 PM
Brian - Welcome to the Creek! Have to admit I have not seen a turned bike before! That is cool! The ant is great! Love the fact that there are 4 hidden boxes within it! Really imaginative stuff here! Very nice!

If you like bugs - be sure to check out Curt Fuller's work as he has turned a few spiders that are amazing!

Brian Weaver
07-07-2009, 10:55 PM
Thanks for the comments! I have to admit it was probably one of Curts spiders that gave me the idea for the ant. The bike was an idea that popped into my head one morning as I was waking up, no idea why!

John W Dixon
07-07-2009, 11:00 PM
Brian, that is really great stuff! Always fun to see something new that makes you say Wow! Fantastic job on both!

John

Chris Rae
07-08-2009, 1:13 AM
Very cool! I like them both, nice job and very imaginative!

Malcolm Tibbetts
07-08-2009, 1:29 AM
Brian, I particularly like your ant. I have a friend that did a "life size' bike a few years ago. It was detailed right down to the individual links in the chain. It was quite a masterpiece.

alex carey
07-08-2009, 1:45 AM
I love the originality, very cool stuff. I've seen bugs but I definitely have never seen a bike, nice job and welcome to the forum.

Rick Flink
07-08-2009, 2:32 AM