PDA

View Full Version : Spray varnish - orange peel - kayak

Doug Arndt
07-07-2009, 12:58 PM
Doing a stitch & glue kayak, with varnish deck.
I've sprayed (hvlp) several coats of varnish, but I'm getting an orange peel finish.
What do do next ? Continue on, light sanding, major sanding ?
Then ... abandon the spraying and use the foam brush, or are there some spraying tips.

Mac McQuinn
07-07-2009, 1:16 PM
Doing a stitch & glue kayak, with varnish deck.
I've sprayed (hvlp) several coats of varnish, but I'm getting an orange peel finish.
What do do next ? Continue on, light sanding, major sanding ?
Then ... abandon the spraying and use the foam brush, or are there some spraying tips.

Doug,
I have no experience with HVLP applied finishes but have some in Varnishes. Was this a Spar type Varnish? If so you might be pressed to get it to harden up enough to sand and buff. If it's not a Spar item, you should be able to flatten the finish with pad and w&d sandpaper working up to as fine as 1200 grit which is available at automotive refinish centers. At this point you could buff it w/ compound or start applying varnish again. I've had great luck with brushing varnish w/ a quality brush that's cut 1/3 with appropriate thinner. Good luck and take your time.

Mac

Doug Arndt
07-07-2009, 1:35 PM
Thanks Mac, yes, it's marine Spar varnish by Interlux Schooner.
Instructions call for 3-5 coats, by foam brush, and I figure a spray coat is thinner, therefore will need more coats. So far I have maybe 3 spray coats, but you can see an orange peel finish when viewed from an angle.
I don't want to continue if this needs fixing at this point, it's been several weeks and it's hard enough to sand. So I'm wondering if I should do a serious sand off, or a light sanding to flatten it before adding additional coats.

Mac McQuinn
07-07-2009, 4:46 PM
Thanks Mac, yes, it's marine Spar varnish by Interlux Schooner.