PDA

View Full Version : Steel City Mortiser

Todd Hoppe
07-07-2009, 7:19 AM
Hi all,

I purchased a Steel City mortiser for use on a crib project. I finally got it out and assembled yesterday. The first thing I noticed is that the included chisels are quite short. It seems like it would be very difficult to cut a 1/4 wide mortise more than 1/2" deep in 3" wide stock.

I've never used a mortiser before. Is this a common issue with this tool? Can anyone recommend a good source for longer chisels?

Mike Heidrick
07-07-2009, 7:28 AM
Lee Valley makes some nice ones.

http://www.leevalley.com/wood/page.aspx?c=2&p=53252&cat=1,180,42240,53317

John Thompson
07-07-2009, 11:32 AM
Are you sure you have the depth stop set for full depth and not locked somewhere before it? I can't remember on this particular machine but.. check to see if your head can be multi-posiitoned by raising or lowering it to accomdate various thicknesses. I had a Shop-fox once that had 3 positions for the hydrualic shock to mount which raised or lowered the head.

Todd Hoppe
07-07-2009, 12:23 PM
Thanks for the feedback.

John, you are dead on. The gas shock only has one mounting position. I think I'll need longer chisels, a shorter shock, or a support to lift up the workpiece

John Thompson
07-07-2009, 4:14 PM
Your welcome Todd. If it were me I would simply step to the scrap box and pick up a piece of backer to lift it as you mentioned. I see no real need to spend $30 or so on new chisels. In lieu of that... get yourself a set of hollow chisel cone honers from LV as with the exception of the LV chisels.. no chisels (including Clinko which are around $100 apeice) come really sharp out of the box.

Good luck...

Chris Friesen
07-07-2009, 7:54 PM
John, you are dead on. The gas shock only has one mounting position. I think I'll need longer chisels, a shorter shock, or a support to lift up the workpiece