PDA

View Full Version : Questions About Gouges

Angie Orfanedes
07-05-2009, 2:54 PM
I am a beginner at wood turning, and I am trying to understand the varieties of gouges and their uses. So I would appreciate drawing on the knowledge of you experienced Creekers...so some questions:

1. Roughing gouge - okay, I know I am supposed to call this a spindle roughing gouge, because you must never, never use it to rough out a bowl.
a. Is this strictly because of the straight grind...and the wings may catch?
b. Can I use it to rough out the outside of a bowl - where the wings are unlikely to catch?
c. Why don't people put a fingernail grind on a roughing gouge and use it as a universal tool - is it strictly because you loose cutting edges on the tool?

2. Spindle gouge
a. Is this different than a bowl gouge strictly by virtue of the depth of the flutes?
b. I am guessing I really could use that on a bowl -again presuming the tool is not ground straight across?

3. Bowl gouge
a. I am presuming the fingernail grind is to provide additional clearance as you cut concave areas of the bowl?
b. Why are deep fluted bowl gouges good? Is it because they are stiffer and can hang out over the tool rest more before chattering?
c. What determines the size of the bowl gouge I should use (3/8, 1/2, 5/8...etc)? Is it related to the bowl size?

4. Gouge material: I see choices of HSS, cryogenically heat treated material, powdered metal technology, and other exotic descriptions of the tool steel used. I presume all I should care about is that the business end of the tool (a) can be resharpened many times, (a) that it can hold an edge for a reasonable number of cuts, and (c) that it is strong enough to withstand the cutting forces without vibrating like a tuning fork or bending like a noodle. Is this correct? Is all the talk about exotic materials or treatments just so much marketing hype?