PDA

View Full Version : Dutch Elm Disease

Christopher Stahl
07-04-2009, 12:43 PM
I've never used Elm before and some trees in town were cut down because of Dutch Elms Disease. Hopefully this is not a stupid question, but can I use them for turning? I don't know enough about it and I haven't been successful in finding any specifics for woodworking use.

Bernie Weishapl
07-04-2009, 1:21 PM
I would get all you can handle. I turn a lot of Elm and like turning it. The city here took down a bunch because of the disease and I got enough I won't need any for some time to come. It can be a very beautiful wood when finished and hey it is free so if you mess something up and make a artistic firewood you are out nothing.

Mike Lipke
07-04-2009, 1:50 PM
If you can keep some of the natural edge (less the bark of course, as it falls off), there are wonderful patterns where the worms hatched and ate their way out.

Jeff Nicol
07-04-2009, 5:13 PM
Chris, I use a ton of it for tool handles as it is hard and pretty stable when turned. As bernie said "Get all you can" it has a different smell but that is part of the joys of wood turning!

Jeff

Steve Schlumpf
07-04-2009, 6:03 PM
Christopher - not real sure about this but it seems to me that the diseased Elm trees were removed for a reason. You may want to check with the folks who removed the trees and find out if there are any restrictions about removing the wood. I think I remember that the beetles that cause the damage live in the bark - so you may have to remove the bark before transport.

I have turned Elm a few times and remember it being extremely tough stuff once it has dried. Hope you are able to grab of bunch of it - some can be turned into absolutely beautiful stuff!

David Hostetler
07-04-2009, 7:43 PM