PDA

View Full Version : Mortise and Tennon

Gary Sutherland
08-28-2004, 5:26 PM
As a fairly new woodworker, I would like your opinions about traditional and loose tennons. I've never seen this discussed specifically, 'tho I may have missed something.

I see David Marks using his multi-router quite often to make loose tennons, and it seems quicker and easier than traditional M/T (I know quicker is not always the answer).

Except for through tennons, when would you NOT use loose tennons? I'm interested in either practical of philosophical reasons.

Also, what do you think of the Multirouter? (Unfortunately, it's not in my immediate future$$). How would the Multirouter (very pricey) compare in usefulness to a horizontal mortiser like the Rojek or Laguna (only fairly pricey).

I'm not trying to establish that one method is always preferable to the other, just curious about your experiences and views.

I saw David Marks at a WW show, and was going to ask him his opinion, but there were so many people waiting to speak to him that I wasn't able to.

Thanks for your comments....

Gary

Alan Tolchinsky
08-28-2004, 6:12 PM
Hi Gary, I started using loose tenons and I can't off the top of lmy head think of where you could not use them. I make my mortises with a router and jig and it's been very easy to use. Then I size up the tenons with a planer for the width and cut to length. So far so good. Maybe we could discuss the advantages and disadvantages of them. Alan in Md.

Jim Becker
08-28-2004, 6:48 PM
There is no strength difference and loose tenons are "easier" to work with--no figuring stock to be longer to accomodate a tenon; just "butt" joints in effect. Aside from the through tenon situation you already identified, I don't think I'd use loose tenons for angled tenon situations where milling the mortise in one or both pieces might be more difficult. But that's me...

Mark Singer
08-28-2004, 7:09 PM
There have been previous posts on this. Here are some links: