PDA

View Full Version : Using roughcut lumber for the first time

Greg Magone
07-01-2009, 11:20 AM
I bought about 60 board feet of rough cut oak lumber at the lumber yard. It was a good bargain - $2/bd ft compared to $3.50 for planed wood.

I've never used rough cut before and wondering what are the best ways of preparing it for use? I didn't ask the yard if the wood is dry or green. I didn't think about it until I was reading online that rough cut is often green. Can anyone confirm this?

Also, what steps do you follow to get the wood ready for use?

Thanks

Greg Crawford
07-01-2009, 11:26 AM
Greg,

Most lumber that makes it beyond a commercial mill is kiln dried. Smaller mills may be different, but if you got it from a regular hardwood dealer, I'd have to say it's been dried somehow. It may still need some more drying to acclimate to your area (it doesn't give your locale), but only a moisture meter will tell for sure.

Very simply,

1. Face joint for one good reference surface
2. Plane for uniform thickness
3. Square one edge on the jointer
4. Finish the other edge by ripping on the table saw.

Most WW mags have had good articles about this, and there's probably a good tutorial on SMC. Try Googling the forum and see what comes up.

BTW, you'll be amazed at what you find under that rough skin! I love it.

Greg

Prashun Patel
07-01-2009, 11:31 AM
If it's green, you'll have to dry it. Drying can take a while - weeks to a year. You basically sticker it and place it somewhere dry to air dry by itself.

If the wood is already dry, then you should still acclimate it first. Ideally, you rough cut /plane it to approximate length and approximate thickness, and then sticker it and let it dry for a week or 2 in your shop. This gives a little time for it to warp if it's gonna.

Then, you joint, plane, and cut it to final dimensions (pretty much in that order).