PDA

View Full Version : Can the HF 2hp dust collector (#45378) be switched to 220v?

Joshua Dinerstein
06-30-2009, 3:18 PM
I have one of these and have finally moved into the new house. So time to setup the shop. I have been planning out my wiring said shop. I am going to run a few 220v lines as you never know what tools will follow on next (a good band saw, a better table saw, etc...)

So I got to wondering when I read about some bigger motors they can be re-wired to run on 220v rather than 110. Now I am not an electrician but I wanted to know what to plan for. Would rather run it on 220 if possible. Lower amps etc... So I downloaded the manual from the HF website. It is a bit more complete than most of their manuals are but says nothing about this possibility at all.

Does anyone know if it can re-wired to run 220 or is it 110 only and forever?

Thanks!
Joshua

David Hostetler
06-30-2009, 3:53 PM
I'm not sure, but I think that you are stuck with 110V on this particular item...

scott spencer
06-30-2009, 5:33 PM
I'm not sure, but I think that you are stuck with 110V on this particular item...

I'm not sure either, but have also heard that it's not switchable.

Jason Beam
06-30-2009, 5:37 PM
If it can, it'll almost always say it can.

Steve Clardy
06-30-2009, 5:38 PM
Pull the motor cover where the wiring goes in. It should show there by the wiring diagram if its a dual voltage motor

Scott Donley
06-30-2009, 7:24 PM
Mine is about 2 years old, it can NOT be switched to 220. If yours is newer, maybe they changed something. SEE Steve's post.

Frank Hagan
07-02-2009, 3:14 AM
The motor label or on the inside of the wiring access plate will show two wiring diagrams if it is dual voltage (well, its supposed to, but some of the HF stuff doesn't follow all the rules). If its dual voltage the motor label should have two amp ratings ... like 10/5 ... and two voltage ratings, like 120/240.