PDA

View Full Version : Block plane prices

Bill Schmitz
06-30-2009, 8:29 AM
I've been hunting for a used L-N or Veritas adjustable mouth block plane on ebay, but the prices they are going for always seem awfully high, frequently well over $100. Is that what I can expect? Maybe they don't lose value as much as I expected (nothing like a car, that's for sure).

New ones are going for $145-$165. Maybe I should just break down and buy new, but I was hoping to save a little more by going used. I'm pretty new to this, so I want to make sure I'm not just seeing an aberration in pricing. Should I wait and keep hunting, or pull the trigger on a new one.

Thanks for your advice.
Bill

Peter Gavin
06-30-2009, 8:38 AM
Lie Neilson and Veritas both hold their values pretty well. It is in fact not uncommon for LN tools to actually end up higher than new price when the bidding frenzy on places such as E-Bay clears.

I guess I would just buy new unless you want to try the vintage route with an old Stanley or Millers Falls that could be just as good as the newer manufacturers. Block planes are not as finicky as other planes.

Peter

Jacob Mac
06-30-2009, 8:42 AM
Bill,

In my experience, you are going to find your best price on a used LN or a LV bock plane here at the creek. Ebay does not offer significant savings on LN planes (I rarely see LV planes on the bay).

One option you might want to consider is the Wood River block plane from Woodcraft. I got one as a present, and it is pretty nice. It isn't low angle, but it has proven itself as a good user.

Now there are geopolitical concerns with the Wood River plane (it is made in China, potential patent concerns) but I received mine as a gift, anx I don't want to hurt the feelings of the person who gave it to me. So I use it and it is a pretty goog plane.

David Keller NC
06-30-2009, 9:07 AM