PDA

View Full Version : A & e???

Eric Jackson
06-27-2009, 6:00 PM
Has anyone else received this magazine (A&E). It's true that I am new in the business with my Epilog Helix, and am getting started with companies like JDS, Marco, Johnsons, Tropar, etc. But in looking to expand my business, according to this article, it would help to be a part of SAGE, PPAI, and ASI.
Any thoughts on this matter? Most of my advice has come from SMC and no one has lead me astray yet.

Mike Null
06-27-2009, 11:56 PM
Eric

I don't know what your business is but the organizations you listed are in the promotional products business. It is a very competitive business with margins that are frequently pretty skinny. If you want to test the water I would go with PPAI as I don't think there's a cost to join.

If you don't yet have a customer base that can buy in fairly large quantities it will be difficult to get started.

Dan Hintz
06-28-2009, 10:15 AM
Mike,

PPA has dues, which you can calculate on their website. I entered a few values from $10k-$100k... it was $600 for up to $50k, then jumped to $675 when I typed in $100k. A minor amount of money if you're actually doing $100k in sales, but something to be aware of.

Eric Jackson
06-28-2009, 11:27 AM
See, I knew I should have asked. Based on your replies, this is a little out of my league right now.
I'm currently exploring the different opportunities out there to expand my laser business. We are trying to see what else we need to add based on our market. Living in a 10,000 population community, we need to be sure to hit this nail on the head.

Dan Hintz
06-28-2009, 1:46 PM