PDA

View Full Version : Right/Left Hand Tilting Table Saw

Holly Mosser
08-25-2004, 6:51 PM
Hi everyone, just a quick question. Right or Left Hand Tilting Table saw. What is the pros and cons on deciding which tilt is right for you and also the safety aspects.

I am new at wood working and this will be my first purchase of a table saw and am looking at the General 650-T50 M2M but can not decide on the tilt.

I will thank everyone for their imput and look forward to the responses.:confused:

Greg Mann
08-25-2004, 7:14 PM
Holly,

Are you looking for something you can use at the drilling site or for when you get home? I have a left-tilt Bosch4000 which is a tabletop saw. It is no cabinet saw but has gotten me by, especially since I break down sheetgoods with a guided circular saw system. I like left tilt because the blade tilts away from the fence in most applications, lessening the chance of entrapping a thin rip. This can be accomplished with many right tilts by moving the fence to the other side but that seems cumbersome to me. There are other fellows, whose opinions I respect, who will tell you they prefer the right tilt. For some reason I have not been able to grasp their explanations as to why and that is probably my limitation. Read everyone's opinions and take your best shot. It seems left-tilt is becoming more popular. FWIW.

Greg

Chris Padilla
08-25-2004, 7:29 PM
Why I like a right-tilt blade:

(1) Stacking dados won't change the zero-point of your fence since the blades stack away from the fence. For a left-tilt, stacking the dados messes up the registration since the blades stack towards the fence. Depending upon how you measure your dados, this point may be moot.