PDA

View Full Version : Table Saw Safety

Joe Von Kaenel
06-23-2009, 12:48 PM
Hello,

Is it just me or does a tablesaw scare you. I have had boards kick back and hear all the stories of people losing fingers. I have a Ridgid 3650 and a Ridge Carbide tipped blade. It is worse with long stock, I use a GRR-Ripper push block.

Am I the only one who is uncomfortable using a table saw? Any pointers (I've been using the saw for 2 years.) Thanks

Joe

Brian Tax
06-23-2009, 12:55 PM
In my opinion, it is good to be scared or at least aware that it is very dangerous. Most accidents happen when you get too complacent and think that you are too good to get hurt or are going to fast or doing something you know you should not be doing, then bang the unthinkable happens. Stay scared.

Jim Rimmer
06-23-2009, 1:16 PM
+1 for Brian's comment. It is good to be scared - just not too scared to use it properly. I am cautious around all my power tools but have the same type of fear around routers - mainly because of the high RPMs, I guess.

Prashun Patel
06-23-2009, 1:22 PM
After about 7 years, I've found the best thing you can invest in is a good aftermarket blade guard and a splitter. It'll protect your fingers a little better from slippage, helps prevent kickback. A nice benefit is also improved dust collection.

Prashun Patel
06-23-2009, 1:26 PM
Also, I find the GRIPPER good for some cuts, but am not comfortable with it for all cuts. I prefer this one...

Bob Genovesi
06-23-2009, 1:32 PM
Joe,

If you're new to woodworking and using power tools it's not a bad thing to be a bit scared. This feeling encourages respect for something that can cut your hand off without even flinching. With that said, you should not be terrified as this is an accident waiting to happen.