PDA

View Full Version : Performax 22-44

Jim Foster
06-20-2009, 12:56 PM
Hi,

I have the 22-44 performax (Pro Unit) with it's own table, etc. I like it... but it chews up paper quite a bit. Seems like every 20 minutes or so the paper will loosen up and if I don't stop the machine and re-tighten it it will let go at some point.

I'm sanding Q-Sawn oak panels about 12in wide with 80 grit taking off .015-.020 at a time. Turning the crank about 1/6 each time after putting a board through twice. The table drive does not slow down, nor does the machine sound like it's working too hard. Good dust collection also.

Any thoughts. My paranoid initial response to the problem is that the large roller should be runbber wrapped or the sanpaper clips should be better designed. I'm not a pro, and I have about 20 hours on the machine.

Any thoughts form other owners would be appreciated

Cary Falk
06-20-2009, 1:00 PM
Is it slipping from the clips and that is what is causing the paper to come loose? Or is the paper stretching?

Peter Quinn
06-20-2009, 1:23 PM
I have the same sander, I have never had that problem. You need to wrap the paper so there is a little space between turns, do not overlap the layers or but them together tightly. Also make sure the tails at each end of the paper are trimmed so about 3/4" goes into the spring clips. They make a little red rubber handled gizmo that came with mine that is supposed to make getting the paper on the second clip easier, though I have never used it. After putting a few hours on a new sheet I do sometimes have to snug it a bit. I keep my paper clean with a gum rubber stick meant for that purpose, seems to give the paper more life. I also like to run some scrap through once or twice after putting on a new sheet to knock down the paper a bit, seems to minimize scratch marks on the wood.

The wide belt at work has a rubberized head, but that is a whole different animal.

doug faist
06-20-2009, 2:10 PM