PDA

View Full Version : Jatoba or African Mahogany what to use?

dan sherman
06-20-2009, 11:27 AM
SWMBO & I have been diligently trying to determine what wood species to use to make new living room furniture. She really like the look of Jatoba (my preference i like the red) & African Mahogany pieces that I have found on the internet.

I have never used exotics before, and thus looking for a little insight from he pros. I know Jatoba is really hard, but other than that what are some pros and cons of the two?

If you had to chose between the two what would you chose?

Mike Cutler
06-20-2009, 12:10 PM
Dan

I don't have any experience with African Mahogany, but I have quite a bit with Jatoba.
If you go the Jatoba route try and stay with grain as close to Qsawn as you can find. Face sawn jatoba does some amazing things as it releases stress when cut.
Jatoba finishes beautifully,and I have found the General Finishes, Seal-A-Cell,and Arm-R-Seal almost foolproof in getting a very nice finish. The extra effort in working with Jatoba is well worth the end result.
If you're a hand tool type of guy set your planes to take a very light cut and have the mouths very tight, you won't be "hogging off" material with Jatoba by hand. Your chisels and scrapers will need to be beyond sharp, and if you use any screws you will need to pre-drill the holes. You are safe using a machinists drill/tap/screw chart with jatoba to select the right size drill bit. You can actually "tap" jatoba like a mild steel or aluminum, and use machine screws. That's how hard it is.

Julian Nicks
06-20-2009, 12:55 PM
I have worked with african mahogany quite a bit. It works well, and the quartersawn boards have a beautiful translucent ribbon grain to it that shimmers. It machines fine, but is also pretty hard and heavy. My favorite finish over it is BLO, amber shellac, and wax. It really gives the wood the look of an old mahogany peice.

Peter Quinn
06-20-2009, 1:14 PM