PDA

View Full Version : 3D Engraving on a Artcut M40?

Leon Shreves
06-16-2009, 11:56 AM
I am still a newbie with all this, so please pardon a dumb question.

I presume that since there is no software controlled power control on the M40 that there is only 1 bit resolution on the images engraved even if an 8bit image is imported. Right?

I guess one could make a separation for each bit in an 8 bit grey scale and make multiple engraving passes with increasing power on each pass.

Has anybody tried this?

Thanks in advance,
Leon

Dave Johnson29
06-16-2009, 12:12 PM
I guess one could make a separation for each bit in an 8 bit grey scale and make multiple engraving passes with increasing power on each pass.

Has anybody tried this?

Hi Leo,

I did something similar as my laser is an older one and does not have power adjustments on the fly. I created the pic in 8-bit grayscale then converted the 6 gray shades (excl black and white) to different colors. I then used the colors to define the speed.

It turned out OK. I was going to write a small program for the color conversion but never got around to it as I don't see 3D stuff as good money earner.

Result was not too bad but without a color conversion program it is a bit labor intensive setting it all up.

Leon Shreves
06-16-2009, 12:25 PM
Thanks Dave. It seems like a technique worth exploring. I've done this sort of thing with photographs and other additive printmaking processes.

I would think that you could convert the image once and then vary the speed and power values for the each pass to tune the results to the material color and hardness.

Cheers,
Leon

Dave Johnson29
06-16-2009, 12:31 PM
I would think that you could convert the image once and then vary the speed and power values for the each pass to tune the results to the material color and hardness.