PDA

View Full Version : How to finish my current project?

James Giordano
08-23-2004, 10:26 AM
Hi there, I've been checking in at SMC for about a week now and I it seems like there is quite a wealth of knowledge floating about in this bit of cyberspace. So, I have a question. I am new to woodworking and I am currently working on a small end table using Cherry and it will soon be time to put on a finish. This is something I know very little about and I am never quite sure what is the best way to do it. Anyway, in the past I have used Tung oil on cherry and I liked the results very much. For this project I would like to have a durable top coat on the tabletop and I was wondering, can I use Tung oil and then use polyurethane on top of that? I would appreciate any advice on this subject.:D

Thanx

Pete Rosenbohm
08-23-2004, 10:50 AM
Just make sure your tung oil is dry, wipe really good, usually takes 24- 48 hours. Then you can topcoat with the poly.

Pete

Jim Becker
08-23-2004, 10:50 AM
Using oil first is always my recommendation for cherry...I prefer BLO as it gives you the same results as tung oil (assuming you're talking about "real" tung oil and not a "tung oil finish"...the latter generally has no tung oil in it and is just a wiping varnish), is less expensive and cures quicker. As to the top coat, use what you prefer, but remember there are a lot of nice finishes that do not contain polyurethane...the most over hyped, yet universally available clear finish on the market. A varnish, such as Sherwin Williams Fast Dry or Pratt and Lambert #38 will be just as durable as poly and be somewhat clearer. In fact, the P&L #38, which uses soya oil as a base, is a little less yellow than some other finishes. And don't forget shellac and lacquer. Both are appropriate finishes for fine furniture.

Dennis Peacock
08-23-2004, 11:33 AM
All great comments to the question so far.