PDA

View Full Version : Tissue Box, Opinions Please!

doug parker
06-11-2009, 10:42 PM
Hi, I am finally getting in some time on the laser. I cut the sides and top out of oak on a shopbot and dovetailed the sides on a porter cable jig. I made the clover and wording out of aspen from lowes and pocketed them in the oak. This is my first attempt and would like some feedback, Friends and Family liked it but they may just be trying to be nice? Be gentle on the feedback! Thanks Doug

Mike Null
06-11-2009, 11:17 PM
Well done! How did you do the colorfill on the letters?

Mike Chance in Iowa
06-12-2009, 1:49 AM
It looks fantastic. Your friends and family were not being nice because they had to. They were telling the truth. :)

Dee Gallo
06-12-2009, 6:26 AM
I like it, Doug!

And I'm the kind of person who buys and uses these. MY one complaint with them is that nobody makes them for the long boxes, only the cube shaped ones. But that's probably because the rectangular ones are all different in proportions.

Your design is very nice and the workmanship is beautiful.

:) dee

Larry Bratton
06-12-2009, 8:39 AM
Doug:
Well done. I would put that up against any.

Tim Bateson
06-12-2009, 8:54 AM
Thanks a lot Doug. My wife saw those pictures last night. :( Now I have another project added to my Honey Do List. :mad:

I'm also interested in your technique for the color fill. Oak has pretty wide grain and bleeds a lot when color filled, so your insight would be helpful.

doug parker
06-12-2009, 9:49 AM