PDA

View Full Version : Krenov Style Plane (pic)

Garth Jones
06-10-2009, 4:21 PM
Hi Everybody,

I'm quite new to the Creek (I've posted over in the turners' forum) but I've been building furniture for fun and money for about 10 years now. Anyway, I just got David Finck's book on wood planes, and, having some spare bits of bubinga...

This is a jack plane, about 13" long, with a 1.75" Hock blade and chip breaker in it. The only finish on it right now is a couple of coats of Danish oil. It works very well and so far I'm really liking the feel of it.

For the last several years I have used the Scary Sharp method of sharpening everything, but decided to give Finck's method (grinder, then hone with an 8000 grit stone) a try. It works wonderfully well. I thought I was getting good results with SS, but this is MUCH better. I've tuned up all my other plane irons and chisels and am now getting glass-like results on long grain and end grain.

I don't think I would recommend Finck's book to a brand new woodworker, but for anybody with even a little experience, it is very useful (sharpening, tool setup, etc. etc.).

Cheers,
Garth

Casey Gooding
06-10-2009, 4:39 PM
Nice job. That's a great book. Building your own planes is very rewarding, and fun.
Enjoy it!

Michael Faurot
06-10-2009, 5:36 PM
That came out nice. You're in trouble now though. Building planes is like that old potato chip commercial--you can't just make one. :)

Garth Jones
06-10-2009, 6:42 PM
Michael - I have no idea what you mean. My list isn't that long - just a spar plane, and maybe a smoother, and a little block plane (not that I really need one since I have a very nice LN low angle block), and maybe, well.....

I think the vortex has me.:)

Garth

George Beck
06-10-2009, 6:58 PM
Garth

I really like your plane. Nice clean lines and carefully shaped. David's book is an excellent teacher and you are obviously a quick student.

Make fluffy shavings!

George

Chuck Hamman
06-10-2009, 10:05 PM
Garth,