PDA

View Full Version : More shelf hole jig advice, please

Debbie Battaglia
06-10-2009, 12:33 AM
I'm an amateur making my own kitchen cabinets. Everything's come out very accurately, until now. I borrowed a friend's "GIZMO" to bore two rows of shelf pin holes in a pair of cabinets. The first 7 or 8 holes would be fine, but then I'd start to get inconsistent spacing. The resulting columns of front and back holes aren't perfectly lined up, which means I'll have rocking shelves, which I don't want! (Have any of you used the GIZMO?)

I read another thread on shelf hole jigs, and saw that lots of you have had success with everything from pegboard to high precision router-based jigs. I don't need many cabinets with adjustable shelves, so it doesn't make sense to buy anything expensive. But I DO want accuracy!

I guess I'm looking for the cheapest jig that will enable me to make two rows of holes that line up precisely. Is it really possible to get accuracy with something like Rockler's plastic jig? (Or even pegboard?)

MEG makes a plywood template jig that sells for about half the price of their aluminum one. What would the disadvantage of plywood be, over aluminum? I don't have a plunge router, though I might consider buying a small one if it's my best option.

Thank you in advance for guidance on this!

Bill Neely
06-10-2009, 2:51 AM
Debbie, Woodhaven makes and sells several jigs that would meet your needs at a reasonable price; they're made of phenolic right here in the USA. They also sell self centering drill bits in both 5mm and 1/4" to drill the holes, the bits themselves are brad point and cut clean holes. Check out the online instruction manual.

http://http://www.woodhaven.com/ProductDetail.asp?Id=1000

Rod Sheridan
06-10-2009, 8:03 AM
Debbie, I lay out the holes by measuring carefully at the edge of the piece and making a small line with a square.

The drill press fence also has a line on it, exactly in the center of the drill bit.