PDA

View Full Version : Traditional Workbench Construction

Thomas Syrotchen
06-08-2009, 6:23 PM
First I'm new to sawmill Creek, what a great site, wish I had found it years ago, would have saved me a lot of pain and probably more money.

I'm in the process of constructing a workbench modeled after the plans Keith Rucker has on his site which he modeled after Frank Klaus and so on... Keith had done a fantastic job with his plans and documentation, but my one concern is the Left Endcap which would seem to be a failure point. I understand the concept of not gluing it and allowing the table to move, but I can't get past the two dovetail joints, and my belief that the back apron dovetail would fail if the bench swells. Keith simply states they've been building them for years and they haven't failed yet. I see huge changes in humidity level so it's a large concern for me. I'm strongly considering removing the dovetail joint on the vise side and butting the dogtail strip to the endcap. I do love the look of the huge dovetail there though. Any thoughts on either construction method?

Ben Davis
06-08-2009, 8:08 PM
Thomas,
Let me be the first to welcome you to the creek!

Workbenches are individual items. Your exact needs in a workbench are different than mine. I would, without question, suggest you pick up the Schwartz Workbenches book. It'll be one of the best $25 you spend and will take you through the history and uses of the workbench.

You should also fill out your member profile by clicking "User CP" at the top left of the page. That way we'll know where you live and other Creekers can chime in with more regioncentric advise.

Doc

Thomas Syrotchen
06-08-2009, 8:54 PM
Thanks Ben for the tip on the User CP.