PDA

View Full Version : New LN Shoulder Vise

Dan Sink
06-07-2009, 9:33 PM
Haven't seen this posted yet, but LN just released their new bench vises. I apologize if its already been discussed. This comes at a good time for me. I'm going to build my first bench this summer. Its going to be a beginner's bench, nothing fancy. I'm not experienced enough to try to take on a serious bench yet. But my goal is to use the beginner's bench to help gain the skills to build my final bench in about 5 years. And I figure that for the vise hardware for my beginner's bench I might as well get a vise that I'll be proud to transfer to my final bench when I build it. Anyway, LN's new shoulder vise looks pretty sweet. But the cost is steep. I don't know, I've got a few weeks to think about it before I plan on starting. This would use up my tool budget for a while. (I need to get that dang tool slush fund started so that the wife won't have to stress out about my tool spending. See guys, I'm really just thinking about her well-being.)

One last thing, I fell in love this weekend. I finally got a chance to use my LN 60-1/2 that I got about a month ago. My first LN tool. Now I'm in love and want more.

LN Shoulder Vise

http://www.lie-nielsen.com/catalog.php?grp=1480

Mike Henderson
06-07-2009, 10:41 PM
That looks very nice - what you'd expect from LN. One question if anyone knows - They talk about an installation kit but it's not clear what that is. Might it be tools you'd need to do the installation? I see that it's returnable so it would not be consumables used to attach the vise.

Mike

Steve Thomas
06-08-2009, 9:05 AM
plastic templates for marking out locations of screws and what not maybe?

Thomas Crawford
06-08-2009, 10:41 AM
So what is the advantage over the LV twin-screw? I am about to start gluing up my Roubo and haven't decided on vise hardware yet.

Kevin Adams
06-08-2009, 11:22 AM
Thomas--