PDA

View Full Version : Neeeda Laser

william kaminsky
06-07-2009, 8:50 PM
I neeeda laser

I have been using the laser services of a friend across town to do what little cutting of wood, ruber and plastic slabs may need here. He has now for a number of years been trying to retire, as he is past 70 YO now. His kids have little interest into the business and he does not want partners.

So, to continue my activites, my volume is so low, I need like a Used laser to cut out parts (as I have been doing since 1995). I use Autocad, and have zero need nor interest into doing "engraving" as am just in to Cutting right now.

I have this year already talked to and got a demo on several new machines. Local and distant. But the salesmen are in to etching mainly. When I mention cutting only, they say "Sure, our machine will handle such..."

I have seen their work, and that as they say is done via Pulse Mode, has a rather wide kerf. At each of the demos, their's sort of cuts like a hacksaw would. Instead of cutting a nice .003-4" wide slot, it comes out .012" to .015" wide. Well, well, now you just have to move your lines over a bit (they have no automatic offset function). Well, for me this then doubles or tripples the work ahead. I have to then make up special files for Acad cutting purposes. One fellow mentioned to me that iffn' I was to buy a constant beam unit, the kerf problems would be gone. Thus I would assume I need both systems.