PDA

View Full Version : pre-cat lacquer sanding and blemish fixing

Lynn Kasdorf
06-03-2009, 4:03 PM
I'm making a 4' square coffee table with macassar ebony veneer and a lacquer finish. I'm new to lacquer. I'm spraying Magnalac satin pre-catylized lacquer. So far, I absolutely love it.

The client wants the finish to be smooth to the touch (no ripples from hard to soft wood grain) and matte. Personally, after a few coats of lacquer, I really like that you can feel some texture of the wood- but she wants it to look like formica :cool: (not her words). After the last coat is on, I'll make it matte with some 0000 steel wool, or perhaps extrafine scotchbrite pads.

Questions:
#1 - when I sand between coats, can I leave some of the white lacquer dust in the pores of the wood to help it build up? That is, will these remain white or will they go back to clear when hit with wet lacquer? I guess I should really experiment on a sample in this regard. Thus far, I've been blowing the dust off and wiping with a microfiber tack rag before the next coat.

#2 - I have a few little defects- small divots that didn't become apparent until some finish was laid down and I could see them. I want to fill in these small depressions. Can I lay in some lacquer with an artists brush, sand flush, repeat until I get it built up, then continue on with the rest? I think this is called padding maybe.

Thanks much
Lynn Kasdorf

http://barncattech.com/projects/IMG_9878.JPG
http://barncattech.com/projects/IMG_9879.JPG

Chris Padilla
06-03-2009, 4:14 PM
Bob Flexner's Understanding Wood Finishing is another book I'd recommend, Lynn.

Are you going to post pics of this table?! I've been wondering about the project...had hoped to see some progress pics! :D

Are you handy with a scraper? That is a great tool to level built-up finishes like lacquer.