PDA

View Full Version : Lathe Gloat - now what??

Ron Taylor
03-20-2003, 11:47 AM
I bravely ignored all of the well meaning warnings and mentioned to the LOML that if I had that new Delta LA200 midi lathe that the fellow was selling on eBay, I could make a baseball bat for the soon-to-be first grandson.

She promptly bid $192.50 and got it.

Now what??? I know NOTHING about things round.

I know, my first step is to join Mark Kauder and the woodturners association up in Phenix City. But before then, I will have to at least turn it on and try it. What all do I need? Some of the warnings included accessories.

A good set of turning tools. Where? What? How much?

Safety equipment. Face shield? What else?

I wanna do some pens and pencils. What to start on? Where do I get the hardware?

Somebody help me.. I think I'm feeling faint..........

robertfsmith
03-20-2003, 12:31 PM
Hi, congradulations. I just got a lathe a couple months ago, so I am a newbie also.

I got my first set of tools from Harbor Frieght, I think I paid like $39 or so and it came with a nice wooden case. They seem to work pretty good, I had to grind them a little to get a shape I felt comfortable with, but they are HSS so they hold an edge fairly well.

If your new to turning I would suggest getting a book or video to help you learn. Richard Raffen makes some nice books and vids. Or hang out at with an experienced turner for awhile and watch and learn.

If you can't wait and have to play with your new toy, I would suggest trying some simple spindles, to get a feel for the tools and how to handle them. The baseball bat would be a good practice piece. I am still playing with spindles, I can't seem to stop getting catches with a bowl. I still need alot of practice too.

Charles Bjorgen
03-20-2003, 2:24 PM
Congratulations. I started with the Delta Midi and feel it'll do well for you. However, you're just getting started spending money.