PDA

View Full Version : help. noob making first TS buy

Will Hon
05-29-2009, 12:01 AM
Hi, i'm a hobbyist looking to buy my first table saw. I'll mostly be building furniture... think Greene and Greene and Gustav Stickley. There are a couple of listings on the local CL right now that are kind of intriguing, but pls feel free to make suggestions. I'm on a relatively low budget... One big concern i would like to have addressed is, will a 1.5/1.75 hp motor suffice for cutting hardwoods or should you really go with a 3 hp? Any other constructive suggestions are more than welcome.

Here are the local listings:

http://kansascity.craigslist.org/tls/1185677174.html]

http://kansascity.craigslist.org/tls/1184674362.html

http://kansascity.craigslist.org/tls/1164118577.html

http://kansascity.craigslist.org/tls/1166397957.html

Thanks in advance.

Jacob Griffith
05-29-2009, 12:23 AM
Hi Will,

There are others here that can provide more detail here, but in general, buy as good of a TS as you can afford. I have the PM 64 saw at home and its a fine saw for a contractors saw. I don't regret buying it. I cut mostly 3/4 inch stock and have never wanted for more power with my 1.5 hp motor, even on hard maple. If you are going to cut thicker stock, it may be a different story. Anyway, the PM64 is not a cabinet saw, but its a fine contractors saw.

PS...that saw with 30" rails is selling new for $999 at most places. With that info, you might be able to get the used one cheaper.

Nick Abbott
05-29-2009, 1:14 AM
It looks like you have some good choices there Will. For a first TS any one of them should do nicely.

Eric Larsen
05-29-2009, 1:14 AM
Don't be in a big hurry when buying used equipment. You can spend days (even weeks) scanning Craigslist, and then the "monster deal" comes around -- $200 for a rock solid Unisaw, for instance.

Tips: