PDA

View Full Version : Corrupt File



Brian Robison
05-28-2009, 7:12 PM
Hi Creekers,
I've got a .pdf file I wanted to open in Corel 12 but I can't seem to import it. Any idea what causes this? Always seems like a shot in the dark.

Scott Shepherd
05-28-2009, 7:41 PM
I'm not import guru, but in my limited experience part of the problem is what version software the pdf was created in. I have CS4 from Adobe, and if I save something in Illustrator in CS4, it doesn't play with with Corel X3. It might play well with Corel X4, I don't know, but it seems to me that versions are a big contributing factor.

If you email me the file, I'll see if I can open it and save it as an EPS for you. I'll PM you my email.

Doug Griffith
05-28-2009, 8:22 PM
It can be quite a few things: from version number to any "fancy" unsupported feature applied by the software that created it to corrupt fonts to embedded items. Many times, if a program won't open a file, it will be able to import or place it. From there you can try all sorts of things. One thing to do is print to another PDF. Then try opening the new one.

Mike Null
05-28-2009, 11:08 PM
Brian

Did you try to open the file using the PDF filter rather than importing it?

George D Gabert
05-29-2009, 8:51 AM
Also Corel seems to have trouble with multi-page files.

GDG

Brian Robison
05-29-2009, 9:09 AM
Mike, did you mean importing it with the correct type of file? If not, I'm not sure how to open it with the .pdf filter.

Mike Null
05-29-2009, 9:49 AM
If you have saved the file to a folder in Corel you may be able to open it by selecting the PDF filter on the drop down list in Corel. This will be under "files of type".

Brian Robison
05-29-2009, 10:54 AM
OK Mike, I tried it and it didn't work.
http://setrialsriders.org/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/7856022531/m/8471037613

Dave Johnson29
05-29-2009, 11:12 AM
I tried it and it didn't work.


Brian,

They both load into my PDF reader but all of the graphics are missing in Corel. Seems they may not have been embedded correctly in the original and Corel cannot assign them layers.

Justa-guess.

Mike Null
05-29-2009, 11:17 AM
Brian

I don't understand the link. Is there a file there or what am I missing?

Scott Shepherd
05-29-2009, 11:20 AM
When I tried to import in into Illustrator, it told me links were missing to the photoshop files. My guess is that they didn't send it properly, as all the links were not included.

Richard Rumancik
05-29-2009, 11:27 AM
If the image displays properly as a pdf, and you have a PostScript printer on your system you could try printing a PostScript version to a file. (filename.ps) Then try to import the .ps version into CorelDraw.

If you don't have a current .ps printer on your system, maybe you can download a "generic" postscript driver from Adobe. You want to "print" the ps image to the disk, as a file, instead of outputing to paper.

I have a HP printer and have 2 drivers for it, a PCL driver and a PS driver. Often I use the HP PS driver to create PostScript files from pdfs.

Not sure if it will help here though if the file is corrupted.

Dave Johnson29
05-29-2009, 12:08 PM
I don't understand the link. Is there a file there or what am I missing?

Look down the posting list for

Poster size
Letter size

They are links to the file.

Carl Sewell
05-29-2009, 12:27 PM
You can get it here: DELETED TIME EXPIRED (http://www.guntersvillelaser.com/STRA_09_schedule_letter-v10.cdr)

Let me know when you get it so I can delete it.

Mike Null
05-29-2009, 12:49 PM
Brian
It worked for me. I have X3.

I just installed the latest Adobe update as well.

Carl Sewell
05-29-2009, 12:53 PM
Unfortunately, Brian does not. He lists that he is at version 12 of CorelDraw.

Brian Robison
05-29-2009, 7:27 PM
Got it Carl, thanks.
So it looks like I needed X3?
I need to stop in and say hi sometime.
I was in Huntsville earlier today, your not
so far away from me.