PDA

View Full Version : Stanley vs Millers Falls jack plane choice?

Alan Zenreich
05-20-2009, 1:42 PM
I'm new to planes, and have recently acquired what I think is a nice start to a set of useful tools.

Through a couple of Craigslist purchase I now have

Millers Falls #9 (9")
Millers Falls #14 (14")
Stanley Bailey No. 5 English (14")
Stanley Bailey No. 6 corrugated (18")
Stanley Bailey No. 7 (22")
Some need more work than others, but all look promising.

The overlap is in the Millers Falls #14 and Stanley No. 5 English jack planes.
Assuming they are in similar condition... which one would you keep? Or keep them both?

These old planes could be a black hole for time and money <s>

Robby Tacheny
05-20-2009, 1:50 PM
I'd say keep both. I have two Stanley #5c's and I was thinking the same thing about dumping one of them. However, as I think about it, it might be a good idea to keep them setup differently. Maybe like using one as a scrub style plane and one with a more fine setup. However, I have a #6, #7, and #8 so I guess time will tell whether this will be wise or not.

-R

Alan Zenreich
05-20-2009, 2:00 PM
Robert,

Thanks for your feedback. If I keep them both, which do you think would be better for the finer setup?

Richard Dooling
05-20-2009, 2:14 PM
If you are not going to replace the irons and there is a difference in the thickness - you might use the thicker iron for heavier cuts. I have a transitional Sargent jack with a suprisingly thick iron I'm thinking about modifying for scrub work. Especially since I can't find a #40 at a price I like.

Jim Koepke
05-20-2009, 2:23 PM
I have two #5 Stanley/Bailey planes. One is set up for coarse work and one is set up for very fine shavings.