PDA

View Full Version : Show me your sanding blocks

John Schreiber
05-19-2009, 5:19 PM
I've been using one of these: http://site.innovationestore.com/images/item.php?id=60980020147 or a sheet folded in fourths in my hand for years. Is there really a better way to make your own or a better one to buy?

If you make your own, what do you put between the wooden part and the sandpaper?

Todd Burch
05-19-2009, 5:25 PM
No pics right now. I use 3" x 21" belts. I cut a piece of pine to fit inside "just so". On some, I use 3/4" stock, so it's long and thin. On others, I add 1/4" cork to both sides, so the block ends up being shorter. I like the corked ones a lot.

Todd

Edit: And when I need a thin block, I'll rip the whole block, sandpaper and all, on the table saw.

David G Baker
05-19-2009, 5:26 PM
John,
I have been using the same sanding block that you use for the past 40 years or so. Haven't found anything better that works as good. I do use shaped wood or dowels once in a while if the project calls for it.

David DeCristoforo
05-19-2009, 5:40 PM
Sticky back sandpaper is your friend! Cut a block of wood and stick on the paper. Trim it to fit or wrap the edges to get into corners. Cheap. Works great. Want something softer? Glue on a piece of cork sheet with some 3M contact spray. The paper sticks just fine to it. Also can conform to shapes. No need to by "pre-made" blocks and you can use a bit of your "fall down" for something besides filling up your trash cans.

Todd Burch
05-19-2009, 5:41 PM
I went out and took a picture of what I typically use.

The first picture is what eventually happens when the belt's glue gives out.

Todd

glenn bradley
05-19-2009, 6:33 PM