PDA

View Full Version : milling slab wood

rick gilpatrick
05-18-2009, 8:06 AM
Hello. I inherited a slab of what I believe is cherry. It is 9' x 16 1/2" x 1 3/4". It had been in his dry garage for at least 15 yrs. I am new to woodworking and have no band saw or planer. So, I need to find some one to cut this slab into boards. I have no real plans for it yet and would like opinions on the most sensible way to cut it up. It appears very straight and dry but has an accumulation of dirt and dust so I also need to know how to clean it and check for metal before I take it take it to whoever. I would not want to be responsible for destroying someone's band saw blade. I thought about cross cutting it with a circ saw and ripping it to widths that I could then resaw on the table saw but the few times that I have resawn on the tablesaw I felt I had one foot in the grave. I have talked to a guy at my local Woodcraft who said he would be willing to do it for me for an hourly fee. There is also a mill nearby but I have not asked them if they can do this type of work. Thanx.

Todd Burch
05-18-2009, 8:13 AM
If you want smaller boards, I would suggest going out and buying smaller boards. Finding 16"+ wide cherry is a difficult task these days. Use this piece for something special.

Robert Chapman
05-18-2009, 8:27 AM
I absolutey agree with Todd. You have an unusual large piece which could be used for something special requiring a large single piece. If this is in fact cherry it's worth some money in that size.

David Christopher
05-18-2009, 9:07 AM
Rick, you dont have your location listed, but I would bet if one of the creekers is near by they would do it for you

Frank Drew
05-18-2009, 10:46 AM
Rick,