PDA

View Full Version : Dual Thien Baffle idea

Peter Aeschliman
05-16-2009, 7:48 PM
Hello all,

This is my first post here, so please go easy on me!! :-)

I'm fairly new to woodworking, and I'm working on redoing my DC system. I just purchased a 3hp Grizzly DC that I plan on converting using a Thien baffle. I plan to vent the exhaust and fine dust through the wall of my shop to the outside to avoid dealing with filters.

This is what my grizzly unit looks like:

http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h255/peteraeschliman/g1030.jpg

I would like to do something similar to what Angie Orfanedes did in the following thread, where I use the drum(s) from the original DC setup as a housing for the Thien Baffle.

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=109166

As I got to thinking, the thought occurred to me: What if I just assemble the DC just like it's intended to be out of the box, except replace the top bags with top baffles with a pipe coming out of the center for the fine dust exhaust (just like the top of the thien baffle), put the Thien Baffle inside the drums like Angie did, and put metal garbage cans on the bottoms? In other words, there would be two thien baffles, two garbage cans, and two exhausts.

It seems like way less work to me. The two things about this idea worry me, but I need your input:

1) As you can see in Angie's setup, the blower is on the exhaust side of the unit. Said differently, the dust is pulled through the Thien baffle aparatus first, and then the fine dust goes through the impeller and out the exhaust. My idea calls for all chips and dust to go through the impeller first, and then get pushed through the thien baffle. I don't know if this will cause any issues. I can't think of how it could, so please help me think that through.