PDA

View Full Version : Lie Nielsen Panel Saws on their site

John O'Neill
05-14-2009, 7:06 AM
Lie Nielsen's Panel Saws were just added to their site. they've been shipping for a couple of weeks. Does anyone have one yet? Opinions?

http://www.lie-nielsen.com/catalog.php?sku=s-ps

JohnMorgan of Lititz
05-14-2009, 10:34 AM
Finally!

I was up to the store back in March and got to check one out in person. They didn't have one in the showroom, but they dug one out of Tom's office and let me play around with it. It was filed rip, so making a bunch of cuts without a proper setup was difficult. I was surprised they went with a smaller saw - was hoping for a 26 inch blade.

The handle was beautiful, as expected from LN, I thought it balanced well and felt good in my hand.

I'm no expert, though...just an amatuer who loves lots of tools. I'm sure I'll have to make an excuse to save up for a crosscut model.

David Keller NC
05-14-2009, 10:44 AM
"I was surprised they went with a smaller saw - was hoping for a 26 inch blade."

Might be a reason for that from the collector's market. The world is filled with Disston, Spear and Jackson, and Simmonds 26" panel saws - millions were made from about 1880 through the 1930's. However, finding a high-end Disston (like a #12) in a 16 or 18 inch plate size is difficult, and they're the handiest size in the shop, IMO. Perhaps Tom felt that he should fill the need for the smaller saws first.

lowell holmes
05-14-2009, 11:19 AM
Well,
He sure got my attention.:)

I have an old 10tpi Disston, but a smaller 12 tpi . . .

JohnMorgan of Lititz
05-14-2009, 11:29 AM