PDA

View Full Version : Questions re scrapers & hollowing backs of doors

Tom LaRussa
08-09-2004, 7:40 PM
Here are a couple questions for all you neandexperts out there:

[1] What's the best type of tool to use to hollow the inside of a coopered door? (Think Krenov without the beard, experience or talent.)

[2] I have a ruined Marples pull saw. (Bunch of teeth yanked out when somebody borrowed it to make "a couple quick cuts" in some plywood.) Is this good scraper material?

TIA,

Augie

Wendell Wilkerson
08-10-2004, 9:21 AM
I have no experience with coopered doors but I am going to guess that a compass plane could be used to hollow the back of the door. A compass plane has convex sole. With metal bodied compass planes the radius of the sole is adjustable. I have also seen tools called inshaves and scorps which are basically drawknives with curved blades like these :Inshaves and Scoprs (http://www.traditionalwoodworker.com/default.php?cPath=36_107) . A convex sole spokeshave might be useful too though maybe not for initial rough out. Hope someone with more experience can give you a more definitive answer.

As for making scrapers from the saw, I would go ahead and try it. The saw is already busted what do you have to lose?

Wendell

Pam Niedermayer
08-10-2004, 12:22 PM
I think a coopered door is by definition "coopered." That is, glue up is such that the resulting object is curved and does not need to be hollowed. As to how to smooth such a thing on the concave side, there are convex planes, often called compass planes, that are also suitable for chair making.

Pam

Tom Scott
08-10-2004, 1:16 PM