PDA

View Full Version : Rough lumber source in Central MA?

Michael Poller
05-11-2009, 10:10 AM
Hi All,

I have searched the forums, but either missed, or was unable to find any other posts that asked this question.

I now have my planer and jointer (gloat coming soon when I find time to take and post pics) and want to start buying some rough wood to work with.

I live in Sturbridge in Central MA and am wondering if there are any good spots for rough lumber in that area.

Best I seem to find via web searches is the CWG Hardwood Outlet in Enfield, CT. Does anyone have comments about this place?

I'm new to the rough wood world and would like to get some experience selecting and buying in person before taking the web based ordering leap of faith.

Thanks in advance,
Michael

John Coloccia
05-11-2009, 11:12 AM
Parkerville in Machester,CT has a pretty good selection. Their lumber's kiln dried from their suppliers, and they also have a full shop that can mill stuff if you'd like. For example, I needed to sticker some wood over the weekend. We grabbed a bunch of poplar boards, and he whipped out 40 sticks for me in a few minutes. Labor charge was $16, or something like that. It would have taken me a couple of hours.

They also carry some tools. Two Cherries chisels, I think they're a Rikon dealer...stuff like that. And they're staff is very helpful.

I haven't tried CWG yet, although I've been meaning to check them out. Maybe this week sometime.

From Sturbridge, I think it's probably about the same to Enfield as it is to Manchester. Instead of heading over on the pike, you'd just shoot down 84.

Joe Cunningham
05-11-2009, 11:30 AM
CWG is great, nice selection, they cross-cut for me no charge (to fit in my small SUV). They also will plane 2S for you no charge.

Parkerville is impossible to find. Drove around for a hour looking for it, gave up and went to CWG even though it is about 20+ miles out of my way.

Michael Poller
05-11-2009, 12:24 PM