PDA

View Full Version : What Heater Blues

Victor Stearns
05-06-2009, 9:27 PM
Greetings Creekers,
So I will need to replace my 40-gallon tank type water heater soon.
I have a brother who is a plumber, so maybe just a beer and lunch to get it hooked up.
But I was looking at maybe changing to a tankless unit instead. You know, endless hot water! Important with 4-people in the house. I already know the tank type is around $400 and the tankless is $1800. Doing the cost anaylsis, I am not sure if it makes sense to spend the extra $$$ for endless hot water. The tankless unit is better than 90% efficiency, and yes I am for going green when it makes sense.
So how about your 2-cents.
Thanks for Lookin and Keep making shavings,
Victor

John Fricke
05-06-2009, 9:41 PM
I deliver propane for a living. It has been my non-scientific observation that regardless of manufacturing claims.....it costs more to heat water fast than to keep it warm in a well insulated tank.

My .02 //9which is rapidly deflating in value.)

Shawn Pixley
05-06-2009, 9:55 PM
Everyone in the house has to agree to the maximum Hot water temp. If not you go to lowest and some are unsatisfied.

Von Bickley
05-06-2009, 11:06 PM
I recently helped my son replace his water heater. The old water heater probably could have been repaired but it was 25 years old so we decided to replace it. We replaced a 40 gal low-boy with a 50 gal low-boy. The new water heater is a Whirlpool and we got it from Lowe's for about $280.00. I already had all the fittings we needed so we only had to pay for the heater.

The new one probably won't last 25 years...... :D

Frank Hagan
05-06-2009, 11:44 PM