PDA

View Full Version : Tailvise design

Pedro Reyes
05-06-2009, 1:15 PM
I am in that dreaming stage of wanting to build a new bench, won't go into details of what type but one thing that I do want is a tail vise, made with a wood screw.

Something I have not seen in either of the two books I've read and constantly re-read portions of (Landis & Schwartz), is details on tailvise design, there are plans, but no real analysis of certain feautures, or perhaps I've missed the details on my reads. I am a mechanical engineer so it helps my little-gear brain to have some sort of analytical explanation for things.

I am mostly refering to the tailvises designed in that "L" shape, which in reality is a rectangular frame (e.g. Frank Klaus'). I infer it is because, since the screw had to be offset from the actual jaw (where the force acts) the frame would help with the racking and also the guiding.

But no one talks about the specifics, e.g. optimal distances, relations. Or even more no one seems to provide guidelines, for example the ME in me says "the closer the screw is to the force (jaw), the better it is for the screw" There are many ways to build this obviously. Can your screw thread into the end cap? or could it thread somewhere else further left into the bench?

There is also some rule in these types of vises, basically all clamping should be done with the dog holes or the face in line with them and not to clamp anything on the end portion of the vise (against the end cap). I would assume that a well built frame with a centered screw would allow this without any problem (yet not optimal for using the dog holes).

Any thoughts, insights, experiences, etc. would be appreciated.

peace

/p

John Schreiber
05-06-2009, 2:43 PM