PDA

View Full Version : I want to talk Sanders

Mike Stephens
05-05-2009, 9:26 PM
I am looking for an affordable right angle drill to use for sanding. Some thing light weight and comfortable to hold. I have searched all over and there is countless cheapo brands out there. I am sure 1 or more of those would be up to the task.

I'd like to here what you fellow Creekers are using. Your likes, dislikes and recommendations.

Thanks,
Mike

Don Orr
05-05-2009, 10:05 PM
Mike,

I use the el mondo cheapo Harbor Freight right angle (close quarters) drill. Watch the sales and coupons and you can get them for about $26. I have been using the same one for a couple of years and it has not died yet.

Jerry Rhoads
05-05-2009, 10:11 PM
I use the Milwaukee 70 degree drill (from Farm & Fleet). It is now made in China. Not nearly as good as the one they made in the USA, up till a couple of years ago. But it is doing pretty good.

Jerry

Ken Fitzgerald
05-05-2009, 10:13 PM
Mike,

I use a Trex air sander....$120. I've used it for a couple of years with no problems.

Ryan Baker
05-05-2009, 10:18 PM
Mike,

I use the el mondo cheapo Harbor Freight right angle (close quarters) drill. Watch the sales and coupons and you can get them for about $26. I have been using the same one for a couple of years and it has not died yet.

I've got one of those too. So far it has been working great, and for the price, you can't go too far wrong.

Tom Lewis
05-05-2009, 10:34 PM
I use the Harbor Freight model. I had a Souix drill and it didn't last any time at all. I got the Harbor Freight model, It has held up well and you can't beat the price. I like the top speed for sanding, and the cooling ports are where they don't catch much dust. When it dies, I'll just get another one.

Bernie Weishapl
05-05-2009, 10:39 PM
I also use a Harbour Freight right angle drill.

Curt Fuller
05-05-2009, 10:55 PM