PDA

View Full Version : Turning Tools

Chris Fitzpatrick
05-04-2009, 12:42 PM
Hello , I'm new to turning & I'm getting a space ready for my Nova lathe. I see Woodcraft is offering an 8 piece high-speed steel turning set for approx $150, reduced for $229. Anyone have experience with these? Would they be good tools or just a waste? I have no turning tools yet...

Thanks, appreciate the feedback.

Chris

David Christopher
05-04-2009, 12:57 PM
Hello , I'm new to turning & I'm getting a space ready for my Nova lathe. I see Woodcraft is offering an 8 piece high-speed steel turning set for approx $150, reduced for $229. Anyone have experience with these? Would they be good tools or just a waste? I have no turning tools yet...

Thanks, appreciate the feedback.

Chris

Chris, I think it would be smart to look at the HF tools. they are good quility tools and a lot cheaper.. and you could save enough money to buy a sharpening jig ( if you dont have one ) I would hate to mess up big dollar tools because of no jig......and after a while of turning you will know which tools you like and can buy individual tools of a higher quality

Burt Alcantara
05-04-2009, 1:03 PM
You are probably going to get a lot of posts that basically say the same thing so I'll be first.

Buy the Woodcraft's slow speed grinder.

Buy the new Wolverine sharpening system. I'd recommend the Nova system over the Wolverine but I'm not sure if it's available for retail. The newer Wolverine will keep you on the wheel and most likely get you up and running much faster.

The only turning tool set to buy is the +$35 set from Harbor Freight. This will give you something to practice your sharpening on. Once you are able to get an acceptable edge on your gouges, then you'll be ready to step up to better tools. But don't buy sets of any kind, especially steak knives.

The latest "best buy" in tools is Thompson Tools (http://http://www.thompsonlathetools.com/).