PDA

View Full Version : Tool Making for the feeble

Burt Alcantara
05-02-2009, 9:23 AM
I'd like to make a D handle for a captured system and back rest to hold it. I don't have welding equipment. Would silver solder be strong enough to put the handle together? Is there such a thing as a small, compact, inexpensive welder for jobs like this?

I know I can buy a captured system or parts from a variety of vendors but I'd like to "go my own way."

I might be persuaded to buy a small welding rig recommended by the more experienced out there. Haven't been able to find a good machinist yet.

Can I mill steel using my drill press with a good end mill?

Thanks,
Burt

John Fricke
05-02-2009, 9:42 AM
I'm not a certified welder. I do however have extensive welding experience from back when I farmed. I built a lot of the equipment we used on the farm. I have limited experience with the 110V mig welders on the market. From what I have used them, they are adequate for occasional use with flux core wire. They can be picked up at the discount stores for under $150. The biggest thing is to make sure you get adequate penetration. If you go this route and you have not done much welding I would recommend practicing on scrap metals. You can then grind your weld appart to determine the amount of penetration. (how deep you actually melted the metal)

Scott Conners
05-02-2009, 12:20 PM
I've seen D-handles and gates made of steel pipe threaded into fittings.

The little 110v mig welders are really easy to use with a little practice. Very easy to make strong joints, even if they aren't very pretty. Expect 150-250 for an inexpensive one plus wire, a tank (if you get one that can use gas, otherwise flux core wire works), and protective gear - gloves and a mask. Auto-darkening masks can be had under $50 now, they are well worth it. Miller is a great name, as is Hobart, but there are lots of other options that work.

Joshua Dinerstein
05-02-2009, 12:26 PM