PDA

View Full Version : Safest way to secure a benchtop lathe?

Keith Albertson
05-02-2009, 12:17 AM
I'm brand new to turning, so new I haven't even turned on my Rikon mini lathe yet. I'm all ready to go, but am faced with a delimma....how do I safely and securely attach my lathe to my workbench?

I don't have enough space to have a dedicated lathe stand, nor do I want to permanently attach the lathe to my workbench. But my workbench is extemely heavy and solid, and would probably dampen vibration well enough if the lathe were attached securely.

Here are my thoughts:
1. I could attach the lathe to a piece of plywood, then use handscrews to clamp the plywood to the bench. Just not sure how solid this would be.
2. I could drill holes through the bench, and bolt the lathe to it each time I wanted to use the lathe. This requires modifying my bench, but seems it would be the most stable against vibration.

Any ideas or recommendations would be greatly appreciated!!:)

Rick Hutcheson
05-02-2009, 12:22 AM
I have been running the midi on my bench just attached with 2 Quick Clamps ( pistol grip type you squeeze the handle to tighten). Been turning up to 11 1/2" x 7" bowl blanks on it without any problems.

Jeff Dege
05-02-2009, 1:10 AM
I could drill holes through the bench, and bolt the lathe to it each time I wanted to use the lathe. This requires modifying my bench, but seems it would be the most stable against vibration.
If you're going to drill holes through your bench, why not make them regular benchdog holes? Mount your lathe to a panel (MDF or ply), and screw the panel into dowels that fit into the holes, or into Veritas Bench Anchors.

Kyle Iwamoto
05-02-2009, 1:33 AM
For my other bench tools, I made a drop in rolling cart. I'm sure it would work on a stationary bench. One cart holds 3 bench tools, I just swap out the tool I want to use on the top, the other 2 stay on the bottom.