PDA

View Full Version : small wood blanks from Woodcraft

Jack Gaskins
05-01-2009, 4:00 PM
Does anyone know if those wood blanks that you can get from Woodcraft will crack once you remove the wax? Some of them are quite expensive and I would hate to buy one and then have it split on me.

Also, since I am new to turning and I want to start turning bowls and dont want to wait a long time to let fresh cut wood dry is blanks from Woodcraft the only other alternative to be able to buy and turn or are there other good sources for fairly dry wood to turn?

One more thing. What type wood is good for a beginer to try bowl turning on (besides FREE wood :D)?

Mark Burge
05-01-2009, 4:18 PM
Jack, I bought a purpleheart blank from Woodcraft about a year ago. I kept it around for a while then I bandsawed it into a round blank and set it aside again. It has been just setting there with no wax for about eight months and shows no signs of cracking. I still can't quite decide what to do with it. In the meantime, I've been learning on a lot of free wood that I either turn wet or rough turn and soak in DNA and let dry about a week and then finish turn. It is not that long of a turn around time and I find that my limited amount of time in the shop allows for the drying time anyway. Finally, I've been learning on sycamore and oak that I got free. I don't know if they were the best or not, but it seems to be working. I'm having fun anyway.

- Mark

John Fricke
05-01-2009, 4:36 PM
Welocme aboard Jack.