PDA

View Full Version : Another Lathe Question....

Eric Garner
05-01-2009, 2:32 PM
Ok, I've tried to do some searches, but couldn't come up with anything that would really help me. Hoping someone can take a few minutes to help me out.

The 20% off sale on Jet and Powermatic at Woodcraft has helped push me over the edge into turning. I want to go ahead and buy a lathe that will fill my needs for a long time. I don't want to start small and then 'upgrade'.

Now I've seen the suggestion to try out a variety of lathes before buying but seeing how I'm new to wood turning, I'm not sure this would be a great help. That being said, I will be attending the annual Turner's Day here in Atlanta tomorrow at the Dogwood Institute. I'm hoping to get plenty of info there.

Can someone please give me their opinion between the Jet 16" X 42" Wood Lathe Pro, Model JWL-1642EVS-2 2hp and the Powermatic 1352001 Model 3520B? There are some obvious differences between the two like the Comparator mounts on the powermatic and the ability to mount the 18" extension bed on the end for turning bowls. I think the powermatic also has a 20" swing.... Would I be better served to buy the Jet and use the ~$1,000 on turning tools and accessories that I will undoubtably need as I enter the world of turning? Or would the old rule of buy an expensive tool and cry once, buy a cheap tool and cry forever apply when comparing these two lathes?

Thanks for the help.

alex carey
05-01-2009, 2:42 PM
All three of those lathes are excellent top quality lathes.

The only difference between the first jet and the second jet is 1/2 hp. Otherwise they are the same.