PDA

View Full Version : OMG!!! Not another TS opinion Thread PHULLEEZ

Mark Versprille
04-29-2009, 5:15 PM
I've been butchering wood for 40+ yrs. and am still woefully ignorant of many things. This time it's about TS's.

I am putting together my first "real" shop and need to know what HP saw to get. What is the hardest/thickest wood you would cut with a 2HP or 3HP? Is there a big difference? Would going up to 5HP improve the quality of cuts due to the feed speed?

I have pretty much decided on a Griz (bang for the buck) and I like it's feel more than the other cabinet models in the same price features range. I am wiring the shop now and need to know what sized service to put in.

And if any one here has gotten a Griz with the attached router table, how difficult is it to install a router lift in it?

Thanks in advance, folks.

Jason White
04-29-2009, 5:28 PM
I just bought the Grizzly 1023 with the router table. You can't put a lift in it because it doesn't accept an insert plate. The router is held in place underneath with little clamps.

As far as HP -- I got the 3HP because of the price. Cuts 8/4 red oak like butter. I get a little burning with hard maple using a 50 tooth combination blade, but the saw doesn't bog down at all. That said, I probably should have gotten the 5HP.

Good choice on the Grizzly. I love mine!

Jason

I've been butchering wood for 40+ yrs. and am still woefully ignorant of many things. This time it's about TS's.

I am putting together my first "real" shop and need to know what HP saw to get. What is the hardest/thickest wood you would cut with a 2HP or 3HP? Is there a big difference? Would going up to 5HP improve the quality of cuts due to the feed speed?

I have pretty much decided on a Griz (bang for the buck) and I like it's feel more than the other cabinet models in the same price features range. I am wiring the shop now and need to know what sized service to put in.