04-28-2009, 5:46 PM
who is running SATA hard drives?
Do you like 'em?
Fast enough?
What do you have?

Tim Morton
04-28-2009, 5:49 PM
fast enough for what? :D

They work fine in my mini...i have a 7200rpm WD 320gb as my main drive.

Cliff Rohrabacher
04-28-2009, 5:58 PM
I may end up getting at least one so I'm fishing for info.

Jim O'Dell
04-28-2009, 7:06 PM
My wifes work computer has a WD 320 7200 16mb buffer. It seems fine. I have a 160 gig version in an external housing I use for backup on my computer via USB. Also seems to work fine. The nice thing is if your MB is set up for SATA, it is very easy to install multiple HDs. But if your MB isn't set up for SATA (different interface cable)....maybe there is an internal card to adapt? Haven't looked for one. I'd make sure your MB will work with SATA before you buy a SATA HD. Jim.

Chuck Wintle
04-28-2009, 7:20 PM
I may end up getting at least one so I'm fishing for info.

i have been using Seagate SATA drives for the last several years and i like them. The warranty is good and the price is right with the 1 Terabyte at about $140.

Curt Harms
04-28-2009, 8:30 PM
I just bought a new MB. In shopping I found many have one IDE connector and a half dozen or more SATA connectors. Monoprice.com among others sell adapters to attach IDE devices to SATA ports. I have a couple running and they seem to function well. No jumpers to set on SATA devices. No ribbon cables with 40 or 80 conductors.

Michael Roland
04-28-2009, 10:05 PM
I'm running mostly Seagate drives.
A pair of 750GB's in a network storage drive / media server
320GB boot drive and 750GB data drive in the main PC

They are fast, reliable, and plug and provide play installation.

Burt Alcantara
04-28-2009, 10:50 PM